Thematic Priorities

Human rights are at a turning point.

We have had unseen progress since the 1990’s in the adoption of universal and robust standards in international human rights law. However, various geopolitical factors are making the international environment in which human rights work takes place increasingly difficult and adverse.

Human rights are at best not seen as a priority. More frequently they are considered as an obstacle to security, to counterterrorism, and to the current dominant economic development models.

Governments and powerful business actors supporting these non-human rights centered models have a great influence on global policy-making in areas, such as development, the environment, climate change, and migration. These policies are designed outside of the UN human rights system, but have a profound impact on the enjoyment of human rights by a multitude of people.

This international political environment calls for a reclaiming of the central role that human rights shall have in any public policy effort at the national and international levels. 

Within this context FI’s advocacy work will focus on placing human rights at the heart of international  policies.

To achieve this objective, Franciscans International implements an effective, coherent, and integrated advocacy agenda in thematic areas reflecting its three core “pillars”.

Equal Dignity

  • Amplifying the voices of those experiencing extreme poverty and social injustices.
  • Denouncing policies that further or fail to address inequalities and marginalization.

Peace and Human Rights

  • Promoting human rights in the prevention and resolution of conflicts.
  • Denouncing policies that fuel conflicts and violence.

Environmental Justice

  • Promoting transformation towards environmental justice.
  • Denouncing policies that destroy the environment and fail to address the urgency of the climate crisis.

You can find out more about our work in these areas in our ‘Strategic Orientations from 2021 onward,’ which is available in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.

Photo Credit: © UN Photo/Jean-Marc Ferré